Driving Diversity: Nissan Rides Into Hollywood For AAFCA Awards

Japanese automotive manufacturer Nissan rolled up in the 2020 AAFCA Awards at the Taglyan Cultural Complex in Los Angeles on a night that celebrates the excellence of diversity in filmmaking.

Producer Debra Martin Chase accepts the award for “Harriet” while fellow executive producer Daniela Taplin Lundberg and director Kasi Lemmons looks on

Nissan is no stranger to Hollywood, having partnered with films like “A Wrinkle In Time” and various films from the “Star Wars” franchise in recent years.

But at this year’s AAFCA Awards, the Nissan Altima returned to the red carpet as a star attraction alongside the various Tinseltown titans and honorees on hand.

This is the auto brand’s fourth year as a principle sponsor of the AAFCA Awards, which were hosted this year by comedian Lil’ Rel Howery.

Jawn Murray & Garcelle Beauvais with the 2020 Nissan Altima

Special recognitions were also given to the following: “Harriet” (AAFCA Stanley Kramer Award); producer Clarence Avant (Game Changer Award, “The Black Godfather”); Warner Bros. Pictures senior vice president Niija Kuykendall; film production (Ashley Boone Award); producing partners Lena Waithe and Melina Matsoukas (The Impact Award); and filmmaker Matthew Cherry (Breakout Filmmaker, “Hair Love”), who is also nominated for an Academy Award this year.

Nissan executive Darla Turner was there to present the Nissan Innovator Award alongside director Oz Scott to TV and Broadway director Kenny Leon.

For the first time ever, highlights from the AAFCA Awards will air on the OWN Network’s YouTube channel.

WATCH Jamie Foxx’s acceptance speech for his Best Supporting Actor Award at the AAFCA Awards.

Here’s the full list of award recipients:

Best Film: “Us”

Best Director: Jordan Peele (“Us”)

Matthew Cherry accepts his Breakout Filmmaker Awards

Best Actor: Eddie Murphy (“Dolemite Is My Name”)

Best Actress: Lupita Nyong’o (“Us”)

Best Supporting Actor: Jamie Foxx (“Just Mercy”)

Best Supporting Actress: Da’Vine Joy Randolph (“Dolemite Is My Name”)

Best Breakout Performance: Kelvin Harrison, Jr. (“Waves”)

Best Animated Film: “Abominable”

Best Documentary: “The Black Godfather”

Best Foreign Film: “Parasite” & “Atlantics”

Best Independent Film: “The Last Black Man in San Francisco”

Best Screenplay Presented with The Black List: Bong Joon-ho, “Parasite”

Actress Garcelle Beavauis, Nissan executive Darla Turner & actor Trevor Jackson

The 2020 Nissan Altima Platinum at the front entrance of the AAFCA Awards

Actor Sterling K. Brown presents at the AAFCA Awards

Jawn Murray and actor Andra Fuller

Actor Kelvin Harrison, Jr. of “Waves” accepted his Best Breakout Performance Award

Jocelyn K. Coley of The Allen Lewis Agency, Nissan executive Darla Turner, famed media personality Flo Anthony & Oscar winner Jamie Foxx

WATCH Kelvin Harrison, Jr. of “Waves” give a funny and impassioned speech while accepting his Best Breakout Performance Award at AAFCA Awards. 

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *